Home
Generative AI
Generative Artificial Intelligence / Generative AI / GenAI / gAI
Generative AI is a type of artificial intelligence that can learn from and mimic large amounts of data to create content such as text, images, music, videos, code, and more, based on inputs or prompts. Source: Harvard University Information Technology
Open Web Articles
PBS News Hour--6 Minute Story
A few AI Tools
There is an ever-expanding list of new tools. A few of the most popular ones are listed below.
Text: ChatGPT, Google Bard, Bing Chat
Images: DALL.E2, Midjourney, Dream Studio
Code: Amazon Code Whisperer, Github Copilot
Music: Magenta AI
AI & Higher Edcuation
Turnitin Chief Product Officer Annie Chechitelli, Arizona State University , Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Chris Howard, Gyan Inc CEO Joy Dasgupta, National Louis University , Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Eddie Phillips, Stanford GSE Assistant Professor in Education Data Science Dora Demszky, and Edtech Insiders Founder and CEO Alex Sarlin at the 2023 ASU+GSV Summit. AI is transforming the way we teach and learn. Whether through creating intelligent virtual assistants, personalized learning experiences, or new forms of digital content, the AI is rapidly disrupting how students and faculty approach their daily work. Join our expert panelists as they discuss the opportunities and challenges that AI presents for the future of higher education.
Jefferson College's Academic Honesty Policy
- Student Code of ConductIncludes examples of academic dishonesty.
Stanford's Inside AI--Conversation with Open AI Founder Ilya Sutskever
Organizations, Trade Associations & Companies
Articles @ the Library
- No, ChatGPT can't be your new research assistant: Just look what happens when you use it to find sources.In response, library staff have started publishing web pages and hosting workshops all with the same message: ChatGPT can do a lot of things. But it cannot find sources.
Search For Aritcles--Library Databases
Login with your name and V number for off campus access. Include JC at the end of your number. Example: V000136459JC
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowThe industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for journals and peer-reviewed titles back to 1886. Includes market research reports, company and industry profiles, country profiles, as well as management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics information. Updated daily.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThis publication covers news in the field of higher education. Begins September 1989, and is updated weekly.
- Education Full-Text This link opens in a new windowContains full-text articles from journals, magazines, and other publications in education and related fields.
Internation Federation of Library Associations & Institutions
Ask A Librarian
Need help finding a specific resource? Want to know what database to use? Reach out and ask a librarian. You can email us at refdesk@jeffco.edu or call 636-481-3166 and ask to speak with a librarian.
Designing Assignments for an AI World
- Chronicle of Higher Education: You’ve Checked Out the New AI Tools. Now What?Three steps to help you envision the role of ChatGPT — first in your academic discipline and then in your classroom.
Jefferson College's Center for Teaching and Learning
The Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) offers brown bag discussions about a variety of issues impacting faculty at Jefferson College. Check out their schedule for past or upcoming sessions discussing AI and higher education. Contact CTL Coordinator Dr. Cindy Rossi for more information. email crossi@jeffco.edu phone: 636-481-3410
Books @ the Library
The Age of Scientific Wellness by Call Number: RA 425 .H588 2023ISBN: 9780674245945Publication Date: 2023-04-04
Atlas of AI:power, politics, and the planetary costs of artificial intelligence by Call Number: Q 335 .C63 2021ISBN: 9780300209570Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The Book of Minds:how to understand ourselves and other beings, from animals to AI to aliens by Call Number: BF 311 .B27 2022ISBN: 9780226795874Publication Date: 2022-06-28
The Digital Mindset: what it really takes to thrive in the age of data, algorithms, and AI by Call Number: HD 45 .L434 2022ISBN: 9781647820107Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Four Battlegrounds: power in the age of artificial intelligence by Call Number: UG 479 .S38 2023ISBN: 9780393866865Publication Date: 2023-02-28
Genius Makers:the mavericks who brought AI to Google, Facebook, and the world by Call Number: TA 347 .A78 M48 2021ISBN: 9781524742676Publication Date: 2021-03-16
A Hacker's Mind: how the powerful bend society's rules, and how to bend them back by Call Number: HV 6773 .S357 2023ISBN: 9780393866667Publication Date: 2023-02-07
How to Stay Smart in a Smart World:hy human intelligence still beats algorithms by Call Number: Q 334.7 .G54 2022ISBN: 9780262046954Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Computer History--Just for Fun
15 Robot Movies--Just For Fun
The Terminator (1984) . WALL-E (2008) .Metropolis (1927) . Westworld (1973) .The Matrix (1999). Blade Runner (1982) .Robocop (1987) . A.I. Artificial Intelligence . The Stepford Wives (1975) . the Iron Giant (1999) . The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951) . Ghost in the Shell (1995) Big Hero 6 (2014) .Transformers (2007) . Robots (2005). Source: Vulture.com