Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College 101 (COL 101): Intro to College: Glossary

Use this guide to walk you through the College 101: Introduction to College library assignment. You can also refer back to this guide if you need help finding a book, finding an article, or evaluating a website.

Glossary of Terms

Jefferson College Library  - College Experience Glossary           

Your librarians are available at http://www.jeffco.edu/library or 636-797-3000, ext. 3160, 3161 or 3556.

Abstract- a summary of a document, article or speech (see book record image below).

archway.jpg

Archway- Jefferson College Library’s online catalog that allows you to search our collection of over 70,000 books and other items.

Academic Search Premier- one example of an online database (see definition below) from a company named EBSCOhost.
Book Record- page in the online catalog that gives details about one particular book (see image below).
Screenshot_2011-08-01_13-45-07.jpg Bibliography- a list of sources; also referred to as a Works Cited or References page and usually a required part of a research paper.  Bibliographies are used to list the citations (see definition below) of books, journal articles, and web sites used in research.
Call Number- a combination of letters and numbers assigned to each book, microform, recording or other material. The call number indicates the subject of the book and allows books on the same subject to be shelved together.  In the online catalog most call numbers appear like this: NK5389 .C1. (See image to the left).
Catalog- a list of materials which describes and organizes the resources of a collection or library.
Citation- the basic information needed to find specific materials. For a book this information includes author, title, place of publication, publisher, and date published. For an article, the citation usually includes author, title, name of journal, magazine or newspaper, date, volume, and pages.
ehost100.gif Database- a collection of magazines, journal and newspaper articles. EBSCOhost’s Academic Search Premier is one example. V# required for off-campus access.
Detailed Record or Citation Page- page in an online database such as EBSCOhost’s Academic Search Premier that give details about one particular article. screenshot a.jpg
Domain- part of a web address. The domain tells about the organization:  .gov, .edu. etc. (see book record image above).

eBook- a digitized book that you can read online. eBooks are available 24/7 through Archway and are searchable. eBooks are available through the book catalog on the Library website.

Full-text- a full text article is just like it sounds-the full text of the entire article. Full text articles can be available as a either an HTML and/or PDF file.

Journal- a periodical (see definition below) which is usually considered more scholarly than a popular magazine. Journal articles usually contain footnotes and/or bibliographical references.

HTML- a computer language, Hypertext Markup Language. HTML is used to create documents that you can read on the Internet. In databases, HTML documents are usually text-only.

Keyword Search- a broad search using ordinary, everyday, or natural language words to search the Internet or a database. A keyword search returns all records that contain the keyword(s).
Library of Congress (LC)- the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world and determines many of the standards used to organize materials found in libraries.

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LC Subject)- organize materials, such as books, into useful and specific categories with terms that are sometimes unfamiliar. Use LC Subject Headings to fine tune your search results and find additional sources.

Magazine- a periodical (see definition below) publication usually considered to be of more general or popular interest than a journal.

MOBIUS- a group of mostly academic Missouri libraries that share resources and the name of their shared online catalog. Through MOBIUS, you have access to over 22 million books.
PDF- Portable Document Format, a type of online document that is displayed in its original format, with layout, photos, charts, etc. One way to read PDF files is through Adobe Acrobat.
Periodical- a magazine, journal, newspaper, or other publication which is published at regular intervals.
Renew- to extend the amount of time materials can be borrowed. You can renew items by visiting your account through the My Library Account link at the Library website.
Subject Search-  a narrow search using specialized subject terms or subject headings.  A subject search returns specific results that pertain to particular topics. Subject searches may be performed in article databases or the book catalog.

URL- Uniform Resource Locator. This is a unique Internet address for a web page or web site, such as http://www.jeffco.edu.