Finding Articles
Locating articles can be tricky. Use the tutorial on the right, and the video below to get an idea of what to look for in a scholarly article. You may then use the search widgets below to begin your quest for a scholarly article. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian by coming in to the library, or using the chat, text, and email tools below.
Find an Article Tutorial Video
Reference
Use these resources as a starting place. These encyclopedias and reference sources are not appropriate sources to cite in your paper, but they are a good way to gain a fundamental understanding of a topic. Doing so will help you discover useful search terms, and have a solid jumping-off point for the rest of your research.
- Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowCombines Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, periodicals, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, and multimedia.
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Other Databases for Controversial Topics
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWeekly reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of pressing political or social issues including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Originally created as a means to inform government elected officials about important topics. Covers 1923-present.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowContains information on controversial topics of current interest. Provides topic overviews, links, full-text popular sources, multimedia, and websites that are carefully selected from thousands of domestic and international sources.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowFind pro and con viewpoint articles on controversial topics. Includes periodical articles along with thousands of podcasts.
Ask a Librarian
 |