LibGuides: Psychology Research Guide: Finding Scholarly Sources

Library Databases: What are they?

Psychology Journals

APA PsycARTICLES
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR consists entirely of scholarly journal articles from titles in various disciplines. Topics include: archeology, art & art history, Asian studies, biology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, history, language & literature, law, music, psychology, political science, sociology, and more.

Journals by Title & Requesting Articles

Journals by Title
Use Serials Solutions to search for a specific journal title in our database collections. Click on the database from the list that has the correct date range and full-text access.
Interlibrary Loan
Still can't find what you need? Request an article from one of our partner libraries. This process takes a little longer, so give yourself plenty of time to get the article.

Find Books

You have access to millions of titles through Locate, our library catalog, and MOBIUS OpenRS, the statewide catalog. Students often find recently published titles about their topics or use slightly older titles as additional resources. Remember to search for books early -- if you request books from another library, they can take a week or so to arrive at our campuses.

To learn more about using Locate to find books available at the library, watch this video.

To learn more about requesting books with the MOBIUS OpenRS catalog, watch this video.

Finding Books & Articles

This video will walk you through the steps required to find articles and books through Jefferson College's search tool, Discovery.

Psychology Research Guide: Finding Scholarly Sources