LibGuides: Copyright in the Classroom: Links and Resources

Helpful Copyright Links

Copyright Quick Guide
Developed by Dr. Kenneth Crews, the purpose of this guide is to provide an overview of copyright law and it emphasizes key issues discussed in greater depth on this site. The Guide examines such seminal issues as fundamental principles of copyright law, copyright ownership, fair use and other permitted uses and provides a short bibliographic list.
Copyright Crash Course
Created by the University of Texas Libraries, this course is intended for use by faculty for deepening their understanding of copyright laws. This in-depth guide covers many sections briefly discussed in this Jefferson College LibGuide.
U.S. Copyright Office
The U.S. Copyright Office promotes creativity and free expression by administering the nation’s copyright laws and by providing impartial, expert advice on copyright law and policy for the benefit of all.

Is It Covered By Copyright?

How to Investigate the Copyright Status of a Work
This Circular, published by the United States Copyright Office, offers some practical guidance on what to look for if you are investigating the copyright status of a work. It is important to realize, however, that this circular contains only general information and that there are a number of exceptions to the principles outlined here. In many cases, it is important to consult with a copyright attorney before reaching any conclusions regarding the copyright status of a work.

Copyright Genie
This tool can help you determine if a work is covered by U.S. copyright, calculate its terms of protection, and create a handy PDF of your results for future legal reference.
Copyright Catalog (1978-present)
This database holds copyright information from 1978 to now. If you need information prior to 1978, the Copyright Office can do a manual search of its records for a fee.
Public Domain Handbook
Developed by the University of California Berkley School of Law, this handbook can help aid in the evaluation of the copyright status of a work created in the U.S. between January 1, 1923 & December 31, 1977.

Other Library Resources

UMKC University Libraries Copyright Research Guide
An in-depth exploration of copyright law, fair use, media in the classroom, Canvas use, and much more.
Pennsylvania State Library Copyright Guide
Another guide dedicated to informing college educators about the aspects of copyright necessary for their work and use.
Bluegrass Library Copyright Websites & Tools
Additional library-vetted online resources to help you get an overview of various applications of fair use and the TEACH Act in education.

Sample Copyright Warning

NOTICE

WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT

RESTRICTIONS

The copyright law of the United States (title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be ‘‘used” for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.’’ If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or re- production for purposes in excess of ‘‘fair use,’’ that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.

Fair Use Resources

Fair Use Checklist
The Fair Use Checklist, developed by Columbia University Libraries, has been widely used for many years to help educators, librarians, lawyers, and many other users of copyrighted works determine whether their activities are within the limits of fair use under U.S. copyright law.
Fair Use Evaluator
This tool is designed to help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code. The tool will help you collect, organize & archive the information you might need to support a fair use evaluation by providing you with a time-stamped, PDF document for your records, which could prove valuable, should you ever be asked by a copyright holder to provide your fair use evaluation and the data you used to support it.

Finding Non-Copyrighted Images

Use these links to find images that are either public domain, or have some kind of CC license. These images may still have some limitations - check the website or the image properties to be sure.

Note: You should still try to credit the photographer/organization. In most cases, this information is available near the photo.

TinEye
This tool allows you to upload and look up images across the web. This 'reverse-lookup' tool can be used to see where your work is being reproduced, and also to find the original source of an image.

Creative Commons Search Portal

CC Search Portal
This search portal allows you to search for CC-licensed content across media types. Use OpenVerse, specifically, to find CC-licensed and public domain content via search services provided by other independent organizations.

Controversies in Copyright

This "selfie," taken by a macaque named Naruto in 2011, was taken with a camera owned by photographer David Slater, resulting in a years-long saga over who ultimately owned the copyright to the image. PETA said the monkey owned the copyright; Slater says he did; the U.S. Copyright Office said no one could. Read the articles below to learn more about the legal decision and the reasoning behind it.

Judge Rules Monkey Can't Own Copyright

What Does Copyright Protect?

AI & Copyright

Legally, AI poses myriad questions and concerns, but one of the thorniest situations is copyright law. Check out the resources below to learn more about AI and its implications for copyright.