ACS Citation Style
In the field of chemistry, the American Chemical Society (ACS) has established a set documentation style to be used for citation, known as ACS style. Whenever you need to cite a reference for any chemistry research assignment, you will need to use ACS style to do so properly.
-
ACS Style Quick GuideUse this quick guide to see examples of how to cite different types of sources (scientific journals, books, magazines, newspapers, etc.) in ACS format.
-
Citing Sources in ACS Style - Harper CollegeThis guide from Harper College provides general guidelines for in-text citations, reference lists, and citing specific sources in ACS style.
Available via Jefferson College Library
Whether you're looking for something you can grab off the shelf or read directly on your laptop, there are a lot of materials available to you through the library! This is a small selection of these books -- use the links in the Find Books & eBooks box below to browse even more.
-
Chemistry: Energy, Matter and Change
by
Call Number: EBSCO eBookISBN: 9781032766287Publication Date: 2024-07-08 -
Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables
by
Call Number: QD 33.2 .H63 2020ISBN: 9780367230135Publication Date: 2019-11-28 -
Survival Guide to General Chemistry
by
Call Number: QD 33.2 .M3545 2019ISBN: 9781138333727Publication Date: 2019-02-26 -
Super Simple Chemistry
by
Call Number: QD 35 .S38 2020ISBN: 9781465493231Publication Date: 2020-06-23 -
Chemistry: A Very Short Introduction
by
Call Number: EBSCO eBookISBN: 9780199683970Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Welcome!
This guide is intended to assist students in General Chemistry and Organic Chemistry courses, as well as any other students looking for resources to help with chemistry research.
Research Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR consists entirely of scholarly journal articles from titles in various disciplines. Topics include: archeology, art & art history, Asian studies, biology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, history, language & literature, law, music, psychology, political science, sociology, and more.
-
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContains full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Scholarly/Scientific Journals
-
Chemistry eJournalsFind full-text journals full of articles about topics in chemistry including biochemistry, general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and more.
-
Organic Chemistry eJournalsCheck out this list of full-text journals on organic chemistry, available though library databases.
-
ScienceDirect's Open Access JournalsBrowse the many open access chemistry journals on ScienceDirect. Articles published open access are peer-reviewed and made freely available for everyone to read, download and reuse in line with the user license displayed on the article.
-
Communications ChemistryThis is an open access journal from Nature Portfolio publishing high-quality research, reviews and commentary in all areas of the chemical sciences. Research papers published by the journal represent significant advances bringing new chemical insight to a specialized area of research.
-
ScienceScience is a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization.
-
Trends in ChemistryThis journal offers readable, multidisciplinary review, opinion, and short articles covering topics related to all aspects of analytical, inorganic, organic, physical, and theoretical chemistry. Articles are thoughtfully designed to keep students and leading scientists alike updated on the most pressing issues in the field.
Reference Databases
-
CredoWith regular updates, this Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
Other Resources
-
PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
-
Periodic Table of ElementsUse this periodic table page to help you navigate abundant chemical element data available in PubChem. When exploring the table or list views on this page, please note the links to dedicated pages for each element. These individual element summary pages contain a lot of additional information as well as references. Please refer to them for details about provenance of the element property information.
Video Databases
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand is a streaming video database of thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Find over 200 chemistry-related videos (Explore Subjects --> Physical Science --> Chemistry) in this educational streaming video database.
-
Academic Video Online- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. Filter by subject (Science --> Chemistry) to find chemistry-related content.
Find Books & eBooks
NOTE: These catalogs are still under development. If you're having trouble finding or requesting an item, please email refdesk@jeffco.edu and a librarian will reach out to help you as soon as possible.