Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section contains links and search tools for resources in psychology. PSYCArticles is our primary database with scholarly articles, also check out these links containing information on best practices, and working with specific populations.
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Mental Health/ Patient Populations
Schizophrenia and Related Disorders Alliance of America promotes improvement in the lives of people with schizophrenia-related illnesses and their families by providing support, hope, and awareness so that early diagnosis, treatment, and community services increase recovery.
RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (800.656.HOPE and online.rainn.org) in partnership with more than 1,100 local rape crisis centers across the country and operates the DoD Safe Helpline for the Department of Defense. RAINN also carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help victims and ensure that rapists are brought to justice.
Alcohol & Drug Abuse Reports and Statistics-Missouri Department of Mental Health
Centers for Disease Control-FastStats
"The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages." http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/default.htm
National Alliance to End Homelessness
The NAEH The Alliance works toward ending homelessness by improving homelessness policy, building on-the-ground capacity, and educating opinion leaders. Check out their resources to learn about working with homeless populations.
Ask a Librarian
" alt="chat" border="0" height="55" width="250">
The American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) was founded in 1986. In the ensuing 28 years, APNA has grown to be the largest professional membership organization committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health (PMH) nursing and wellness promotion, prevention of mental health problems, and the care and treatment of persons with psychiatric disorders.
NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness. - See more at: http://www.nami.org/About-NAMI#sthash.EOyuC2lN.dpuf
The World Health Organization's role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations’ system. This is a collection of their resources on mental health- everything from suicide prevention to policy and services
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse
"The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse – St. Louis Area (NCADA) is a community health agency providing information, intervention, referral to treatment, prevention and advocacy services." http://ncada-stl.org/about-us/vision-mission/
Missouri Department of Health and Human Services Community Data Profiles
Use this source to look up data concerning health issues by county in Missouri.