Books and Databases
This page contains search boxes to access Jefferson College Library's catalog to search for books, as well as various databases to use in your training and research. A database is a collection of journal, newspaper and magazine articles that are not usually freely available on the web. They are often organized with a particular audience in mind, for example, professionals in a field, undergraduates, public library users, etc.
You should use a database because it is credible, it saves time and stress, easier to cite, and it eliminates the information overload that can come with web searching. They don't contain distracting advertisements, they are frequently updated and they have tools designed to help with research.
If you have any questions about databases or how to use them, don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
Find an Article Tutorial Video
CINAHL
- CINAHL with Full-Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) includes full-text (complete articles) from nursing and allied health journals and other publications.
Consumer Health Complete
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content such as articles, evidence-based reports, reference books and fact sheets. Covers all areas of health and wellness. Updated on a weekly basis.
Ask a Librarian
 |
MEDLINE
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Search MEDLINE through EBSCOhost's interface.
FInd a Book Tutorial
Search for Books
 |
Use archway to find books and other materials in the Jefferson College Library catalog.
 |
Use MOBIUS if you cannot find what you are looking for in the Archway catalog. MOBIUS contains records for books from other Missouri libraries. If you order a book via MOBIUS (see Find a Book tutorial-4:30), it should arrive within 2-5 business days, depending on the popularity of the book, and how many copies are circulating.