Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dual Enrollment Comp/US History: Secondary Sources

What are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources are written or created by reserachers and scholars. A secondary source is an examination of data or evidence that includes analysis, and a particular thesis or point of view. Secondary sources include books and articles written by experts. They are often written with language that is common to a particular field, and is sometimes hard for the layperson to read. Secondary sources are the main component of scholarly communication-. They involve experts and scholars performing reserach or responding to that of their peers. This research is then published in specialized books or scholarly journals. Examples of secondary sources on Lincoln and the civil war include Lincoln and the Triumph of the Nation: Constitutional Conflict in the American Civil War by Mark E. Neely Jr., a collection of essays on the civil war by contemporary scholars, and articles about the civil war by professional historians and scholars (which can be found in databases like JSTOR).

Secondary Sources- Databases

Search EBSCO Databases
Limit Your Results

Simultaneously search three of our biggest databases in EBSCO: Academic Search Premier, Academic Search Elite, and Masterfile Premier.These three resources contain numerous secondary sources that constintute communication between scholars and experts. Use this resource to locate reliable information from informed authors.

JSTOR contains scholarly articles from various sources. Relevant topics include: economics, history, law, political science, and sociology.


   
   Sort by:

SIRS Researcher is a collection of carefully curated resources that helps you get both sides of a relevant issue. Find links to expert opinions on a given topic, and use the research tools to suppliment your search.

Find Books

A good place to start is with books in our catalog. Many books available at Jefferson College Library are secondary sources. That is, they are scholarlarly, and written on the basis of primary sources, with input from other scholars and experts. Start with archway to search our holdings, and then move to MOBIUS if you cannot find what you are looking for in Archway.

Ask a Librarian

chat