Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jefferson County History Center Finding Aids
Use the finding aids below for the types of materials and information that is located at the Jefferson County History Center.
Documents, photos and old books belonging to the Brickey Family of Jefferson County. Materials date bake to the Mid 1800's.
A Coroner's Inquest is an inquiry into the manner and cause of an individual's death, conducted by the Coroner or Deputy Coroner with a court reporter and six jurors present. The collection contains Coroner Inquests from 1933-1980.
Howard Litton Collection
Various documents related to Jefferson County history. These items were donated to the Jefferson County History Center by Howard Litton.
Jefferson County Circuit Court Cases - Index
Use the Names Table to locate the name of the person a case involved. Use the Case File Table to determine the case number.
Jefferson County City and Town Histories
Collection of materials related to the history of the various towns, cities, areas, and organizations of Jefferson County.
Jefferson County Family Histories
Family History records are genealogical records of families with ties to Jefferson County, MO. These records were donated by individual families and vary in content.
Jefferson County School Records
School records exist for various schools from the 1930-60's. The type of records available are class rosters, end of year reports, and budget information.
Index to the names and file numbers of probate records from Jefferson County. Probates date from 1821 - 1940.
" alt="chat" border="0" height="55" width="250">
State and Local History and Genealogical Resources
Jefferson County Genealogical Society
The Jefferson County Genealogical Society has many types of records. These records can be found at the Jefferson County Library-Northwest Branch. (636) 677-8186
Jefferson County Historical Society
The Jefferson County Historical Society website has links to cemetery records, church records, and a number of other sources relevant to genealogical research.
Missouri Birth Index
Missouri birth records from 1920-2015. This database was created by the not-for-profit group, Reclaim the Records. Name and date of birth is given.
Missouri Death Index
Index of Missouri Deaths from 1968-2015. This database was created by the not-for-profit group, Reclaim the Records. Name and date of death is given.
Missouri Digital Heritage
More than 9 million records can be accessed through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.
Missouri History Museum
The Genealogy and Local History Index provides access to the extensive genealogy and local history holdings at the Library and Research Center. The index contains references to personal and corporate names (primarily St. Louisans and St. Louis businesses) that appear in selected library, archives, and photograph collections.
Missouri Sanborn Maps
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Company, established in 1867, compiled and published maps of United States cities and towns for the fire insurance industry to assess the risk of insuring a particular property. The maps offer detailed information on the use made of commercial and industrial buildings, their size, shape and construction material.
Missouri State Archives
The Missouri State Archives is the repository for state records of historical value. This site has information on the types of records held as well as links to various digital collections.
State Historical Society of Missouri
The State Historical Society of Missouri preserves and provides access to reference materials and historical collections through research centers on each of the four campuses of the University of Missouri system: Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, and St. Louis.
Library Resources - In Library Use Only
Ancestry library provides indexing and search options for public records from the 1950 census back to vital, military, and immigration records. Also includes city directories, tax, criminal and land records, birth, marriage and death records.
Fold3® provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. The records at Fold3 help you discover and share stories about these everyday heroes, forgotten soldiers, and the families that supported them. On Fold3, you can combine records found on the site with what you have in your own albums and shoeboxes to create an online memorial for someone who served. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Use HeritageQuest to find your ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.
National History and Genealogical Resources
BLM General Land Office Records
Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. Also included are images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records.
FamilySearch is dedicated to the discovering and preserving of a record of the family of mankind, introducing individuals to their ancestors through the widespread access of records, and collaborating with others who share this vision.
Find a grave
Find the final resting place of your Jefferson County Ancestor. Site includes photos and grave locations of thousands of people buried in Jefferson County.
Free Databases at Ancestry.com
Ancestry.com has almost 2000 always-free databases. To view these free records, you may be asked to sign up for a free account.
National Archives- Resources for Genealogists
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Whether you are just beginning your research or are trying to find a missing link, the resources for genealogists page at the National Archives has numerous resources.
Genealogy and Family History Forms