Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide contains resources and tutorials to get you started in researching music. Start with the Music Research Tutorial below. You can find the databases mentioned on the right as well as an encyclopedia, and electronic theses and dissertations available for free online. You can also use eBooks to get more information on your topic.
JSTOR - Music Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's collection of music periodicals and books. Use the search bar to look for composers, musicians, movements, instruments and more in the scholarly literature.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Combines Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, periodicals, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, and multimedia.
Theses and Dissertations
Some universities and colleges provide research by their graduate students online as part of their graduation requirements for completing masters and doctoral degrees. The links below are to theses and dissertations that may be downloaded for use, free of charge.
OhioLINK Music Theses and Dissertations
Theses and dissertations from the public universities and colleges in the state of Ohio.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations provides links to various dissertations and theses with creative commons licenses. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,091,822 theses and dissertations.