Cataloging Policy
The Jefferson College library performs the function of cataloging to provide intellectual access to the library’s collection. The library’s online public access catalog (OPAC) is created by library staff and provides bibliographic records for materials located in the library at Jefferson
College.
I. Definitions
1. OPAC – The online public access catalog or OPAC, is a database of all the resources held in a library.
2. Copy Cataloging – The process of using existing bibliographic records from authoritative sources and attaching items to create accurate holdings in a library catalog.
3. Bibliographic record – A record containing details regarding library materials i.e., title, physical description, subjects, and metadata.
4. Library of Congress Call Number - A type of classification using letters and numbers to organize and arrange the book collections in a library.
5. Library of Congress Subject Heading - The term(s) indicating a subject under which all
material on that subject is entered in a catalog.
6. OCLC – Online Computer Library Center which includes bibliographic records used by libraries worldwide.
7. EBSCO FOLIO – The integrated library system used to manage the cataloging, serials, and circulation activities of the library.
8. MOBIUS/OPEN RS – The consortium of libraries (MOBIUS) with whom Jefferson College library cooperates and shares bibliographic records and the system (OPEN RS) used to do so.
II. Objectives
1. To maintain an online catalog that serves as the primary access to the Library’s collections, including the addition, correction, and deletion of bibliographic and item records.
2. To maintain holdings information in the OCLC database in order to provide global access to our records holdings and facilitate interlibrary loans from across America.
3. To process materials and make available to library patrons in a timely manner.
III. Guidelines
1. Copy cataloging is the preferred process for cataloging library materials. Copy cataloging will be performed by technical services staff under the guidance of a librarian with cataloging expertise.
2. Bibliographic records shall be imported from OCLC and records created by the Library of Congress (040 DLC) should be used when available.
3. Bibliographic records and item records should be maintained according to the standards and practices the MOBIUS consortium.
4. Library materials that are in need of original cataloging are cataloged following current, nationally accepted standards and guidelines found in the Anglo-American Cataloguing rules, MARC 21 Format for Bibliographic Data, and the Library of Congress Rule Interpretations. Cataloguing Rules, MARC 21 Format for Bibliographic Data, and the Library of Congress Rule Interpretations.