Google Search
Google Alternatives
- Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowCombines Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, periodicals, atlas, world data, the Classics, biographies, news, and multimedia.
- CredoWith regular updates, this Collection includes 3 million entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. In addition to full-text content, the Academic Core Collection provides access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, as well as 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
SIFT Instructions
Move 1- Stop
- Do I know the website or source of information?
- What is the reputation of both the claim and the website?
Move 2- Investigate
- Look into the source.
- You want to know what you are reading before you read it.
- Investigate the expertise and agenda of the source to determine its significance and trustworthiness.
Move 3- Find
- If your original source is questionable, find a better source to determine the accuracy of the claim.
- What other coverage is available on the same topic? Most big news stories that are true get covered by multiple major news outlets.
- Use fact checking sites like Snopes, Politifact, and FactCheck.org to investigate claims being made.
- For images, you can do a reverse image search.
Move 4- Trace
- Trace claims, quotes, and media back to the original context.
- When reading online sources, pay attention to who they quote as a source and see if you can find more information.
- Follow hyperlinks in the source that point towards original studies or reporting.
- If there is a bibliography, open up the original reporting sources listed.
- After you've found the original claim, quote, finding, or news story, ask yourself if it was fairly and accurately represented in the media that you initially came across.