Copyright Links
- Copyright Quick GuideDeveloped by Dr. Kenneth Crews, the purpose of this guide is to provide an overview of copyright law and it emphasizes key issues discussed in greater depth on this site. The Guide examines such seminal issues as fundamental principles of copyright law, copyright ownership, fair use and other permitted uses and provides a short bibliographic list.
- Copyright Crash CourseCreated by the University of Texas Libraries, this course is intended for use by faculty for deepening their understanding of copyright laws. This in-depth guide covers many sections briefly discussed in this Jefferson College LibGuide.
- U.S. Copyright OfficeThe U.S. Copyright Office promotes creativity and free expression by administering the nation’s copyright laws and by providing impartial, expert advice on copyright law and policy for the benefit of all.
Fair Use Resources
- Fair Use ChecklistThe Fair Use Checklist, developed by Columbia University Libraries, has been widely used for many years to help educators, librarians, lawyers, and many other users of copyrighted works determine whether their activities are within the limits of fair use under U.S. copyright law.
- Fair Use EvaluatorThis tool is designed to help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code. The tool will help you collect, organize & archive the information you might need to support a fair use evaluation by providing you with a time-stamped, PDF document for your records, which could prove valuable, should you ever be asked by a copyright holder to provide your fair use evaluation and the data you used to support it.
Sample Copyright Warning
NOTICE
WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS
The copyright law of the United States (title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be ‘‘used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research.’’ If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or re-production for purposes in excess of ‘‘fair use,’’ that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
Other Library Resources
- UMKC University Libraries Copyright Research GuideAn in-depth exploration of copyright law, fair use, media in the classroom, Canvas use, and much more.
- Pennsylvania State Library Copyright GuideAnother guide dedicated to informing college educators about the aspects of copyright necessary for their work and use.
- Bluegrass Library Copyright Websites & ToolsAdditional library-vetted online resources to help you get an overview of various applications of fair use and the TEACH Act in education.
Available @ Jefferson College Library
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators, 3rd Edition by Call Number: KF 2995 .C74 2012ISBN: 9780838910924Publication Date: 2011-12-14
Creative Commons for Educators and Librarians by Call Number: KF 3002 .C74 2020ISBN: 9780838919460Publication Date: 2019-12-17
Exceptions for Instructors Online Tool
The U.S. Copyright Code provides for the educational use of copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright holder under certain conditions. Use this free online tool to find out if your intended use meets the requirements set out in the law. This tool can also help you collect information detailing your educational use and provide you with a summary in PDF format.
Obtaining Permissions
If you've determined you need to request permission from the copyright holder to use their work:
1. Identify the Copyright Holder
- Check if there is a copyright notice on the work that identifies the author
- Keep in mind there may be multiple copyright holders
- Has the copyright changed hands? It may no longer belong to the original creator
- The method of identifying owners differs depending on the industry
2. Identify the Rights You Need
- Copyright is a bundle of rights. What specific rights would you like to request permission for? This could include:
- Reproduce
- Distribute
- Modify
- Would you like exclusive or non-exclusive rights?
- What length of time do you need the rights?
3. Be Prepared
- Plan ahead: requesting permission could take time
- Submit your request and obtain the response in writing
- Be prepared for the possibility of licensing fees
- Multiple rounds of negotiation may be necessary
- Ultimately, the copyright holder could say no
Resources you can use throughout the process of asking for permission to use a copyrighted work:
Sites to help you find/contact a particular creator or copyright holder:
- American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
- Universal Uclick (Cartoons, Comics & Editorial Features)
- National Writers Union (Books)
- Music Theatre International (Scripts, musicals)
- Copyright Clearance Center (Print, electronic, non-print)
- Copyright Resource Clearinghouse -- Minnesota State
Is It Covered By Copyright?
- How to Investigate the Copyright Status of a WorkThis Circular, published by the United States Copyright Office, offers some practical guidance on what to look for if you are investigating the copyright status of a work. It is important to realize, however, that this circular contains only general information and that there are a number of exceptions to the principles outlined here. In many cases, it is important to consult with a copyright attorney before reaching any conclusions regarding the copyright status of a work.
- Copyright GenieThis tool can help you determine if a work is covered by U.S. copyright, calculate its terms of protection, and create a handy PDF of your results for future legal reference.
- Copyright Catalog (1978-present)This database holds copyright information from 1978 to now. If you need information prior to 1978, the Copyright Office can do a manual search of its records for a fee.
- Public Domain HandbookDeveloped by the University of California Berkley School of Law, this handbook can help aid in the evaluation of the copyright status of a work created in the U.S. between January 1, 1923 & December 31, 1977.
Finding Images
Use these links to find images that are either public domain, or have some kind of CC license. These images may still have some limitations - check the website or the image properties to be sure.
Note: You should still try to credit the photographer/organization. In most cases, this information is available near the photo.
- TinEyeThis tool allows you to upload and look up images across the web. This 'reverse-lookup' tool can be used to see where your work is being reproduced, and also to find the original source of an image.
Creative Commons Search Portal
- CC Search PortalThis search portal allows you to search for CC-licensed content across media types. Use OpenVerse, specifically, to find CC-licensed and public domain content via search services provided by other independent organizations.
eBooks Available @ Jefferson College
- Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators: Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions, 4th Edition
This newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance on basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; finding information quickly with “key points” sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; understanding the concept of fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learning the current state of affairs regarding mass digitization, Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and other important topics; and many helpful checklists for navigating copyright in various situations. - Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know
Copyright law was once an esoteric backwater, the special province of professional authors, publishers, and media companies. This is no longer the case. In the age of social media and cloud storage, we have become a copying and sharing culture. Author Neil Netanel explains the concepts needed to understand the heated debates about copyright law and policy. He identifies the combatants, unpacks their arguments, and illuminates what is at stake in the debates over copyright's present and future. - Copyright Clarity: How Fair Use Supports Digital Learning
In this slim, jargon-free guide, media literacy expert Renee Hobbs presents simple principles for applying copyright law and the doctrine of fair use to 21st-century teaching and learning. Complete with a ready-to-go staff development workshop, this book explores: What is permissible in the classroom; Fair use of digital materials such as images, music, movies, and Internet elements found on sites such as Google and YouTube; Trends in intellectual property law and copyright practices; Classroom projects using copyrighted materials; and more.