Kanopy
- KanopyKanopy offers a diverse catalog of thoughtful, high quality academic content & entertainment, providing access to thousands of indie films, documentaries, rare movies, and international releases. Kanopy is available via internet browser and as an app that will stream to Apple, Amazon, & Google devices and smart TVs. All videos are available for classroom use.
If accessing Kanopy on campus (and on the Jeffco wifi), you will not be required to log in. If you want to use Kanopy off campus, you will need to create an account using your Jefferson College email. If you need any assistance, please reach out to a librarian.
- Kanopy HelpUse this site to find helpful articles and videos to assist you with using Kanopy.
Films on Demand
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand is a streaming video database of thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, NOVA, BBC, ABC, CBS, MSNBC, The History Channel, Open University, TEDTalks and WideAngle.
- FoD Video TutorialsThis page will provide you with tutorials for using Films on Demand videos, including creating playlists and creating custom segments.
Alexander Street Video Databases
- Academic Video Online- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.
- 60 Minutes- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowAlexander Street is a primary source streaming service that provides access to news and documentaries through its online database. Jefferson College presently subscribes to Alexander Street's 60 Minutes collection which contains episodes or the aforementioned show from 1997-2014.
Swank Motion Pictures
- Swank Motion Pictures - Campus Streaming This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with an academic streaming collection. Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.Swank offers digital access to films purchased for viewing on the platform. Films may be requested by faculty for use in their classes.
If there is a movie you want to show or have available for your class, let us know! Contact a librarian for more information about how to get a movie and stream it digitally on or off campus. If you don't hear back from a librarian after you've submitted your request, please reach out so we can ensure you get what you need in a timely manner.
Video Resources Help
If you have any questions about the resources on this page, email refdesk@jeffco.edu or ask any librarian at the Hillsboro campus. If you have a specific question that you think other faculty members might share, let us know and we will add information or a video tutorial.