Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
social work, organized effort to help individuals and families to adjust themselves to the community, as well as to adapt the community to the needs of such persons and families.
Social work. (2013). In The Columbia Encyclopedia. New York, NY: Columbia University Press.
You have access to millions of titles through Archway, our library catalog, and MOBIUS, the statewide catalog. Students often find recently published titles about their topics or use slightly older titles as additional resources. Remember to search for books early (they can take a week or so to arrive at our campuses).
The Scholarly Peer-reviewed Article
SocINDEX with Full-Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR consists entirely of scholarly journal articles from titles in various disciplines. Topics include: archeology, art & art history, Asian studies, biology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, history, language & literature, law, music, psychology, political science, sociology, and more.
Ask a Librarian
" alt="chat" border="0" height="55" width="250">