Historical & Research Resources
On this page, you'll find a variety of historical, scholarly, or research-focused resources by, about, and for LGBTQ people, including scholarly journals, news articles, oral histories, and archives of all kinds. Queer history, and the stewardship and preservation of it, is more vital today than ever before. Many of the resources on this page have been gathered, organized, and digitized by those who recognize the importance of keeping LGBTQ history accessible and visible so that it cannot be erased.
Use these resources to connect with previous generations, inform your research, and grow your own knowledge and understanding.
NOTE: Some of the resources on this page may only be available to Jefferson College students, faculty, and staff. For non-Jeffco users, please come into the library for access.
Independent Voices
- Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- LGBT - Independent VoicesThe LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States.
OutHistory
- OutHistory.orgOutHistory is a public history website that aims to generate, present, and promote high-quality evidence-based LGBTQ historical research for LGBTQ and general audiences. We also work to foster the development and growth of broad and diverse communities of people interested in learning about and producing LGBTQ histories.
Queer Digital History Project
- Queer Digital History ProjectThe QDHP is an ongoing effort to document pre-2010 LGBTQ digital spaces online. Our current projects include a catalog of early LGBTQ online communities, an archive of transgender-related Usenet newsgroups, and interactive maps of TGNet, one of the first international transgender-specific BBS networks.
Oral Histories
News & Magazine Articles
Reference Sources
- LGBTQ in the 21st CenturyA reference book covering a series of LGBTQ issues in the modern era, including American laws, international concerns, queer culture, education, families.
- Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) HistoryThis encyclopedia provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans StudiesThis encyclopedia takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, and focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.