Books, eMedia, and More
On this page, you'll find multiple ways to access LGBTQ+ -focused books, eBooks, audiobooks, films, and more through the Jefferson College Library. Being a student, faculty, or staff member entitles you to a variety of eMedia databases full of content, as well as the numerous resources on the shelves at the Library.
If you want a specific item but are having trouble finding it or if you're having issues with any of these databases or links, please contact a librarian. NOTE: For non-Jefferson College users, please come into the library for full access to these resources.
Check It Out Today!
Rainbow Rainbow by Call Number: PS 3603 .O5343 A6 2022ISBN: 9781646221011Publication Date: 2022-05-31
Real Queer America: LGBT Stories from Red States by Call Number: HQ 73.3 .U6 A44 2019ISBN: 9780316516037Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Queer: The Ultimate LGBT Guide for Teens by Call Number: Overdrive eBookISBN: 9780547687322Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Pride Guide: A Guide to Sexual and Social Health for LGBTQ Youth by Call Number: HQ 76.27 .Y68 L36 2018ISBN: 9781538110768Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies by Call Number: EBSCO eBookISBN: 9781438491707Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Find Books @ Jefferson College Library
By using the following links, you can find millions of print books, eBooks, and audiobooks. Our catalogs and databases provide you with access to titles of all kinds, including nonfiction, popular fiction like New York Times Bestsellers, scholarly analysis, short stories, poetry, and so much more.
When searching for books about LGBTQ topics or with LGBTQ narratives, use the following keywords:
- LGBT or LGBTQ or LGBTQ+
- _______ people (e.g., transgender people, bisexual people)
- _______ fiction (e.g., lesbian fiction, LGBTQ fiction)
- Queer (many results will be about/on queer theory)
- Overdrive This link opens in a new windowOverdrive is a distribution platform for eBooks, audiobooks, music, and video titles. OverDrive's catalog includes more than 2 million digital titles from more than 5,000 publishers. Use Overdrive to access eBooks and download them to your device.
- eBooks on EBSCOA collection of eBooks provided by EBSCO publisher.
- Discovery @ Jefferson College LibraryUse this search tool [red box on library homepage] to find books on the library shelves and eBooks from multiple databases.
- Jefferson College Library Catalog (Locate)Use this catalog to search for holdings in the Jefferson College Library. We have over 60,000 books in our stacks, and many more materials and resources you can find by searching the catalog, including DVDs, CDs, audiobooks, and more.
- MOBIUS OpenRSThis catalog provides you with access to millions of materials from libraries all across the region, thanks to our membership in the Mobius Consortium. If you can't find it on the shelves here, look for it in Mobius. NOTE: Mobius items may take up to one week to arrive after requesting, as they must be sent via courier.
Libby App
Want to listen to audiobooks on your phone for free? Try Libby!
Get access to Overdrive's eBooks & audiobooks without an internet browser with Libby app! Available on basically any smart device (e.g., phones, tablets), you can listen to audiobooks in your car, keep your place in your book across all of your devices, and read on the go even without internet access. Learn more here.
Kanopy
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand video streaming service that provides access to feature films, documentaries, independent films, foreign films, and educational videos across a wide variety of subjects. Kanopy makes it easy to view, share, and discuss videos while on or off campus. Available via internet browser and as an app for smart devices.
- Kanopy - LBGTQ CinemaGo directly to Kanopy's LGBTQ Cinema offerings, which includes award winners, short films, and movies from all over the world.
Academic Video Online
- Academic Video Online- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons.
- AVO - LGBT StudiesUse this link to go directly to Academic Video Online's LGBT Studies collection, full of documentaries, performances, interviews, and more.