As part of Jefferson College's Performing Arts and Cultural Enrichment (PACE) series, Jefferson College Library is pleased to offer a presentation, exhibits, a research guide, and a special performance about the 1930's federal Civilian Conservation Corps program and the enduring public works accomplished by the men who participated, including many familiar structures at Missouri and National Parks. We celebrate the work of Company 1743, a company of African American men who built the lodge, lookout shelters, and 1000 Steps Trail at Washington State Park.
October 4, 2023, 2-3pm Jefferson College Professor of History (retired) Dr. Scott Holzer presents "The Civilian Conservation Corps: Working Against the Depression."
February 8, 2024, 2-3pm, Jefferson College Library welcomes Emmy Award-Winning storyteller Bobby Norfolk for CCC Company 1743.
CCC Goverment Documents & Books on Display
Jefferson College Library CCC Display
Jefferson College Library CCC Display
CCC Display: Government Documents
CCC Federal Writers Project
CCC in Missouri: Goverment Documents, Local Stories, & Personal Photos
CCC Company 1743 & Washington State Park
- It's a bird, it's a plane It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s Camp Thunderbird of the Civilian Conservation Corps!National Archives Rediscovering Black History.
- Honoring the Builders: Rare historic photos show all-black CCC crewby Tom Uhlenbrock for the Columbia Tribune
0:32 / 26:38 Trail of History - Civilian Conservation Corp & Works Progress Administration
Great Depression, New Deal, CCC
CCC US Government Resources
- Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Enrollee Records, Archival Holdings and AccessNational Archives at St. LouisThe research room at the National Archives at St. Louis is open. Research visits are by appointment only and may be scheduled at the National Archives at St. Louis Event Page. If you would like to schedule a virtual consultation prior to your onsite visit, email stlarr.archives@nara.gov. Please refer to our frequently asked questions for further information.
- The Civilian Conservation Corps and the National Park Service, 1933-1942 An Administrative Historyby Paige, John C.
National Park Service (Dept. of Interior),
Washington, D.C.REPORT NO NPS-D-189
PUB DATE 85 NOTE 293p.; Photographs may not reproduce well. PUB TYPE Report - Into the Woods: The First Year of the Civilian Conservation CorpsFranklin D. Roosevelt combined his own long-standing interest in conservation with his desire to quickly create jobs for out-of-work Americans in the 1930s to create a program that has had a strong and lasting impact on the nation—and on those who participated in it.
- Smithsonian: Archives Center, National Museum of American History Guide to the Civilian Conservation Corps CollectionThe Archival collections of the National Association of Civilian Conservation Corps Alumni (NACCCA) donated in 2006. The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), created as part of the New Deal legislation initiated by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1933, was a public work relief program for unemployed men designed to reduce high unemployment during the Great Depression. The CCC carried out a broad natural resource conservation program on national, state, and municipal lands from 1933 to 1942. This collection contains papers, photographs, and ephemera collected and created by alumni of the CCC and donated to the NACCCA archives.
- U.S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Reclamation Denver, Colorado The Bureau of Reclamation’s Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy: 1933 - 1942In June 2000, the first comprehensive study of the Civilian Conservation Corps
(CCC) program within the Bureau of Reclamation (Reclamation) became
available with the initial printing of this book. - The Work of the Civilian Conservation Corps: Pioneering Conservation in LouisianaThe Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) was a public work relief program that operated from 1933 to 1942 in the United States for unemployed, unmarried men from relief families, ages 18-25. A part of the New Deal of U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt, it provided unskilled manual labor jobs related to the conservation and development of natural resources on the Nation’s forest and agricultural lands.
National System of Parks
Emmy Award-Winning Storyteller Bobby Norfolk
Dr. Scott Holzer: The Civilian Conservation Corps: Working Against the Great Depression
CCC Company 1743
This episode features Andrew Olden, a PhD candidate at the University of Missouri-Columbia and staff member for the African American Heritage in the Ozarks Project, discussing Civilian Conservation Corps Company 1743, an African American unit based at Washington State Park along the banks of the Big River near De Soto, Missouri, in the mid-1930s.
CCC Co 1743
The Civilian Conservation Corps in Missouri
- The New Deal, the CCC, and Missouri State Parks from Ozark WatchBoth the Ozarks region and the New Deal have played vital roles in shaping Missouri's system of beautiful state parks. It was in the Ozarks that virtually all our early state parks were located. At the onset of the Great Depression, 12 of 14 parks created during the 1920s were to be found in the Ozarks. Most of these parks in the Ozarks region benefitted immeasurably from the New Deal programs. During the thirties Ozarks parks continued to dominate the system in terms of size, attendance, and Civilian Conservation Corps activity.
- Civilian Conservation Corps:Ozark National Scenic Riverwayn 1933, the National Park Service established CCC camps of mostly young men at both Alley Spring and Big Spring state parks. During the first year at Alley, the CCC workers built eleven buildings and two roads through the park. They installed a new floor in the historic Alley Mill and planted many trees in the park. The Alley Camp was one of many nationwide that was built for World War I veterans.
- The Living New Deal in MissouriThe Living New Deal is making the New Deal of the 1930s come alive for Americans today. The New Deal was the effort by President Franklin D. Roosevelt, who took office in 1933, to respond to the calamity of the Great Depression and alleviate the despair besetting America.
- CCC Legacy: Companies in MissouriIn 2007, the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Legacy was established through a merger between the Camp Roosevelt CCC Legacy Foundation and the National Association of CCC Alumni (NACCCA). The purpose of CCC Legacy is to continue the promotion of the CCC in America and pass the legacy of the CCC to following generations.
- 1934: CCC Camp Organize, Operate at Gallatin, MOThe Daviess County Historical Society is a not-for-profit 501c organization with volunteers working to research, preserve and present local history particularly relevant to Daviess County, Missouri.
- History of Missouri State ParksIn the 1930s, the park system went through its most significant period of change and development. Beginning in 1933, under the direction of President Franklin Roosevelt, U.S. Congress authorized the Civilian Conservation Corps, or CCC.
She-She-She Camps
- New Deal Resident Camps for Unemployed WomenA New Deal Program, c. 1933 - 1937
A research initiative of Penn Praxis, University of Pennsylvania. January 22, 2021
Conducting CCC Research
The CCC and other federal works programs often had many layers of administration, including state and local governments and different federal agencies. Sometimes, the records from states have been collected and digitized, like those found at the University of Idaho. https://www.lib.uidaho.edu/digital/cccidaho/ , but other sources of information are scattered across archives, local and and state governments, and, even in the case of many of the documents use to tell the story of Washington State Park, in personal collections.