Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to Government Information During Closure
As a member of the Federal Depository Library Program, Jefferson College Library is committed to providing access to Government information, even during our closure due to the novel corona virus (COVID-19) pandemic. Please email the Government information librarian, Lisa Pritchard, at firstname.lastname@example.org with requests for information. Alternative forms of assistance will be used to ensure access to Government information. The Library will work with partners across the nation to meet your information needs.
Federal Depository Library Program
Jefferson College Library is a congressionally designated selective depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code). In 2014 we celebrated our 30th anniversary as a depository library and our unique combination of serving the local community and our College garnered attention from the Government Publishing Office in its 2015 profile of our services.
The Federal Depository Library Program was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public. Information products from the Federal Government are disseminated to these nationwide libraries that, in turn, ensure the American public has free access to the materials, both in print and online. The official version of govinfo.gov launched in December 2018 and was developed to provide free access to government information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Government Documents Librarian, Library Director
Tax Forms--Federal & State
Government Documents Libguides
Jefferson College Library benefits from our connections to other Federal depository libraries. Please explore some of these wonderful guides from our fellow librarians.
Voting & Elections Resources for Missouri
GODORT Voting & Elections Information
Librarians from the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT), a Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA), created these reference guides. These guides are intended for informational purposes only and are not in any way intended to be legal advice.
FDLP Basic Collection-Essential Links to U.S. Government Information
The federal government provides assistance to the American public in the form of projects, services, and activities. It supports a broad range of programs—such as education, health care, research, infrastructure, economic development and other programs—through grants, loans, scholarships, insurance, and other types of financial assistance.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government
Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government.
Budget of the United States Government
The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals fro a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued through the fiscal year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the fiding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
Code of Federal Regulations
This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Provides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
Congressional Record (daily)
The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation, popularly known as the Constitution Annotated, encompasses the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.
Explore Census Data
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents
A database providing authenticated access to official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
Official Congressional Directory
The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.
Public Papers of the Presidents
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
U.S. Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, The United States Government Manual provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
The bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the fourth and final generation of the Court’s opinions.
U.S. Statutes at Large
Contains the permanent laws enacted during each session of Congress.
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online
govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
"A popular Government, without popular information, or the means of acquiring it, is but a Prologue to a Farce or a Tragedy; or, perhaps, both. Knowledge will forever govern ignorance: And a people who mean to be their own Governors, must arm themselves with the power which knowledge gives." ~ James Madison 1822
Featured Guide--Prices & Wages by the Decade, UM Library
Government Documents in Print
Our print collection contains many Government documents both in the general collection of titles (organized by Library of Congress classification--LC Call Numbers) and in the Federal Depository Collection (organized by both LC Call Numbers and by Superintendent of Document Numbers, or SuDoc Numbers). To search for government documents use our online catalog Archway.