Home
In collaboration with Workforce and Employment Services (WES) and in support of the new Small Business Incubator/Development Center, this guide aims to provide helpful information, resources, and links regarding the development and support of small businesses through every stage.
The goal of the Small Business Incubator/Development Center is to provide companies with professional analysis, confidential consultation, and educational sessions to help meet the daily challenges of operating a business. Intended supports include: Individualized consultation, marketing strategies, financial analysis and SBA Loan Information, and technology access.
The Office of Workforce & Employment Services (WES) equips students, alumni, and the community for career success. WES offers workforce development programs to facilitate career entry and advancement through targeted training and upskilling. We also provide comprehensive career and employment services, assisting individuals in navigating their career journey and developing effective job search strategies. Learn more here.
NOTE: Some resources on this page may only be available to Jefferson College students, faculty, and staff. For non-Jefferson College users, please come into the library or the WES office for access.
U.S. Small Business Administration
-
U.S. Small Business Administration
Created in 1953, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) continues to help small business owners and entrepreneurs pursue the American dream. SBA is the only cabinet-level federal agency fully dedicated to small business and provides counseling, capital, and contracting expertise as the nation’s only go-to resource and voice for small businesses.
SCORE
-
SCORE
SCORE provides free, expert mentoring for business professionals & entrepreneurs, as well as many resources and educational opportunites. -
St. Louis Chapter Mentor Request FormFill out this form to be paired with the best local mentor to help you with your business.
St. Louis Business Journal Tutorial
This quick tutorial will walk you through searching for articles on the St. Louis Business Journal's website and how to access those articles as a Jefferson College library card holder.
On the Shelf @ Jefferson College Library
Below is an assortment of books available for checkout from the Jefferson County Library. Want to find more? Click here to browse the catalog.
-
The Small Business Start-Up Kit
by
Call Number: KF 1659 .Z9 P35 2022ISBN: 9781413329438Publication Date: 2022-02-22 -
Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business
by
Call Number: KF 1659 .F57 2023ISBN: 9781413330656Publication Date: 2023-05-09 -
Tax Savvy for Small Business
by
Call Number: KF 6491 .D35 2023ISBN: 9781413330403Publication Date: 2023-01-31
Local Resources
-
Economic Development Corporation of Jefferson CountyThe EDC is a not-for-profit, public corporation providing a full range of services to help meet the business’ needs in the County. Provides a variety of services including development, attraction, expansion, and retention to the business community of Jefferson County.
-
Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisThe St. Louis Fed serves the Eighth District, and provides access to crucial economic data, information, and resources for this region.
-
Jefferson/Franklin County Employment ConsortiumThis consortium connects employers to a skilled workforce by fostering strong partnerships between business, economic development, education, and the local workforce development system. Jefferson College, a proud partner, encourages employers to explore available programs, including On-the-Job Training, Incumbent Worker Training, and talent recruitment services.
-
Small Business Center - St. Louis County LibraryLocated at the Clark Family branch, the Small Business Center offers a variety of resources & working spaces for small business owners and aspiring entrepreneurs.
-
St. Louis District of the Small Business AdministrationThe St. Louis District Office is located in downtown St. Louis and serves 54 counties in the eastern half of Missouri . The knowledgeable staff is dedicated to serving the needs of the small business community and is available to assist with any questions or concerns.
Business Journals, News, & Databases
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowThe industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for journals and peer-reviewed titles back to 1886. Includes market research reports, company and industry profiles, country profiles, as well as management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics information. Updated daily.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowThis database includes articles from regional business magazines, journals and other publications covering metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
-
St. Louis Business Journal This link opens in a new windowTo access articles in this publication, go to the link, find an article that interests you, and then email refdesk@jeffco.edu with the title and author to request the full article. The licensing structure for St. Louis Business Journal requires this process as a workaround for patron access. If you are a student in Business classes at Jefferson College, you may also contact your instructor about accessing articles.
St. Louis Business Journal is a trade publication featuring news on business and the economy in the St. Louis Region. -
Newsbank This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2,000 news sources from around the country including St Louis Post Dispatch and the Kansas City Star. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
-
Business & Economics eJournalsClick one of the subject headings to see available publications focused on that area, including business education, business communication, finance, and more.
eBooks @ Jefferson College Library
Below is a collection of a few eBooks and audiobooks available via Overdrive/Libby. To learn more about downloading eBooks to your devices, check out the eMedia guide.
Click here for more business-related eBooks & audiobooks from Overdrive.
-
Building a StoryBrand byCall Number: Overdrive eAudiobookISBN: 9780718074326Publication Date: 2017-01-01
-
Starting a Business All-In-One for Dummies
by
Call Number: Overdrive eBookISBN: 9781119565208Publication Date: 2019-05-07 -
Starting an Online Business All-In-One for Dummies
by
Call Number: Overdrive eBookISBN: 9781119648482Publication Date: 2020-03-10 -
The Lean Startup: How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses
by
Call Number: Overdrive eAudiobookISBN: 9780307939869Publication Date: 2011-09-13 -
The $100 Startup: Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future
by
Call Number: Overdrive eAudiobookISBN: 9780449010037Publication Date: 2012-05-08
MOSourceLink
-
MOSourceLink
MOSourceLink connects entrepreneurs with the business resources best suited to help start, scale and accelerate their business. Includes several multi-part guides to starting & funding a business.
Writing a Business Plan
Finding Funding
Education/Courses
-
Candid LearningFree resource for online education on various grant and grant writing topics for nonprofit organizations, including online courses, sample documents, a knowledge base with detailed answers to common questions (many topics available in Spanish) and more.
-
MySBA LearningThis free learning platform for entrepreneurs is packed with in-depth information to help you grow your business! Developed by the U.S. Small Business Administration.
-
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new windowOffers practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on the academic or licensing tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
Can't Find What You're Looking For?
-
MOBIUS OpenRSThis catalog provides you with access to millions of materials from libraries all across the region, thanks to our membership in the Mobius Consortium. If you can't find it on the shelves here, look for it in Mobius. NOTE: Mobius items may take up to one week to arrive after requesting, as they must be sent via courier.
NOTE: This catalog is still under development. If you're having trouble finding or requesting an item, please email refdesk@jeffco.edu and a librarian will reach out to help you as soon as possible.
-
Interlibrary Loan RequestIf a book or periodical is not available through our Library or through MOBIUS, our statewide consortium, we will try to get the material for you from another library. There is no charge for interlibrary loan (ILL) service for Jefferson College students, faculty or staff.