Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Employees/Student Workers: Collections & Spaces

About the Library and additional information for students workers and new employees.

About the Library

Jefferson College Library provides a variety of services, materials, and spaces for use by students, faculty, staff, and the community. This page highlights some of the offerings for our community. If you don't see what you are looking for, please ask!

Collection Locations

The Jefferson College Library lends many different types of tangible materials to students, faculty, and staff. Following is a list of the location of different collections within the main campus library. We have over 60,000 books, popular magazines and newspapers, thousand of archival documents about Jefferson County, hundreds of DVDs and CDs, devices, and more! Plus, we have streaming videos, eBooks, and databases with access to thousands of newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

1st Floor
  • New
  • Currently Popular
  • Young Adult
  • Graphic Novels
  • New Children's
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Jefferson County History Center & Archives
  • Federal Depository Library
  • Electronics
  • Telescopes
  • Music
  • Movies
2nd Floor
  • Art & Oversized Books
  • Children's--Older Editions
  • General Collection

LC Call Numbers

The Call Number Video is intended to train student workers in how to read a library of congress call number. It will explain what a call number is, how to read each line of a call number, and how books are arranged on the shelf.

Reserved Spaces at JC Library Hillsboro

The Jefferson College Library has a variety of study spaces and meeting rooms for use by students, faculty, staff, and community members. Following is an explanation of each space as well as applicable policies.

Reservations

Students, faculty, staff, and community members can reserve library spaces using the LibCal website online or at one of the iPad stations placed around the library. The LibCal system can be accessed here.

Silent Study Rooms

Rooms: 220, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225
Capacity: 2

Located on the second floor, these rooms are intended for individual, silent study. Each room contains a table and chairs as well as electrical outlets.

Group Study & Meeting Rooms    

Rooms: 114, 132, 134
Capacity: 12-15

Located on the first floor of the library, these spaces are meant for large group projects or meetings. These rooms may include whiteboards and/or tables, SMART Board with SMART Ink, Screen Capture, Screen Share and Web Browser, and wireless keyboard, mouse and portable whiteboard  which can be checked out at Circulation Desk.

Group Study and Meeting Rooms
(no-tech)

Rooms: 133, 135
Capacity: 4-8

Located on the first floor of the library, these spaces are a good spot for group projects that don't require the use of a SMART board. Portable whiteboards and laptop computers are available for check-out at the Circulation Desk.

Content Creation Lab

Room: 131
Capacity: 3-5

Located on the first floor of the library, the content creation lab is a space for making videos, recording podcasts, editing, capturing content, and digital publishing. The space includes an iMac with 24" monitor,  wireless keyboard and mouse (available for checkout), scanner, Yeti microphone, green screen, Go Pro, Sony Handycam, and tripods available for checkout.

Room Agreements


 

Databases, eBooks & Streaming Video

Online Resources, like article databases & eBooks, are available for use on and off-campus. See library staff for assistance or go to Jefferson College Library's homepage for links to these resources.

Computer Labs

Students, faculty, staff, and community members are welcome to use the computers in the library. A few important points to remember regarding computer use include:

  • Computer users do not need to sign-in or show identification to use the computers.
  • Students, faculty, and staff receive priority use over community members during peak activity times.
  • Anyone using library computers must adhere to both the Jefferson College Academic Computer Use Policy and the Library Technology Policy.
  • Community members should not use library resources to print large quantities of personal documents (e.g. garage sale fliers, Girl Scout announcements, etc.).
  • Community members who need to print more than 30  pages are asked to pay 10 cents per page at the Circulation Desk.
  • Personal paper may not be placed in the printers as this causes jams in the printers.
  • Library staff are responsible for monitoring printing and ensuring all computer users are not abusing this resource.

Student ID Cards

In order to check out materials at the Jefferson College Library, patrons must show a valid Jefferson College student or faculty/staff ID card. Patrons may obtain one free ID when they register as a student at Jefferson College. Should they lose their ID card, they must pay for a replacement. To obtain or replace a student ID card:

  • The student needs to show a copy of their schedule and a photo ID (e.g. drivers license, passport, military ID)
  • Pay $7 for a replacement ID. The library accepts cash and checks. If paying with a debit or credit card, the student will need to pay at the cashier in the Student Center and bring back the receipt.
  • Students can also get an ID at the Student Center, Jefferson College-Arnold, and Jefferson College-Imperial.